New listpage

Device profile is: SEO_AGENT

30.140 artikelen in Oudheid

  • Toon resultaten als:
  • Lijst
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
The Cambridge Illustrated History Of The Roman World

Engels | Hardcover | 2003

From its mythical foundation in 753 BC to its sack in the fifth century AD, the city of Rome had an impact on the world that it... Meer

The Decline and fall of the Roman Empire

Engels | Paperback | 1997

Famously sceptical about Christianity, unexpectedly sympathetic to the barbarian invaders and the Byzantine Empire, constantly... Meer

Meditations
With Selected Correspondence

Engels | Paperback | 2011

'Do not act as if you had ten thousand years to live ...while you have life in you, while you still can, make yourself good.' The... Meer

Salonica, City of Ghosts
Christians, Muslims and Jews

Engels | Paperback | 2005

The history of a bewilderingly exotic city, rarely written about: five hundred years of clashing cultures and peoples, from the... Meer

The Woman Who Would Be King
Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

An engrossing biography of the longest-reigning female pharaoh in Ancient Egypt and the story of her audacious rise to... Meer

Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire
Vols 1-3

Engels | Hardcover | 1993

Easily the most celebrated historical work in English, Gibbon's account of the Roman empire was in its time a landmark in... Meer

Fingerprints of the Gods
The Evidence of Earth's Lost Civilization

Engels | Paperback | 1996

klantbeoordeling: 3.0 van de 5 sterren

The bestselling author of The Sign and the Seal reveals the true origins of civilization. Connecting puzzling clues scattered... Meer

Art and Myth in Ancient Greece
A Handbook

Engels | Paperback | 1991

The Greek myths are so much a part of our visual and literary culture that we tend to forget how they entered it in the first... Meer

Persian Fire
The First World Empire, Battle for the West

Engels | Paperback | 2006

klantbeoordeling: 5.0 van de 5 sterren

In 480 BC, Xerxes, the King of Persia, led an invasion of mainland Greece. Its success should have been a formality. For seventy... Meer

Annals

Engels | Paperback | 2012

This is a compelling new translation of Tacitus' Annals , one of the greatest accounts of ancient Rome, by Cynthia Damon. Tacitus'... Meer

Death in the Greek World
From Homer to the Classical Age

Engels | Paperback | 2012

In our contemporary Western society, death has become taboo. Despite its inevitability, we focus on maintaining youthfulness and... Meer

Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World
Six Months That Changed the World

Engels | Paperback | 2003

This prize-winning national bestseller is the landmark, personality-filled history of the Paris peace conference of 1919, now in paperback. Meer

Pompeii
The Life of a Roman Town

Engels | Paperback | 2009

Pompeii explodes a number of myths - from the very date of the eruption, probably a few months later than usually thought; the... Meer

The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire v. 4-6
v. 4-6

Engels | Hardcover | 1994

This boxed set of Volumes 4-6 ("The Eastern Empire") completes the Everyman set. Volumes 1-3 ("The Western Empire") were published... Meer

A History Of My Times
(Hellenica)

Engels | Paperback | 1979

Xenophon's History recounts nearly fifty turbulent years of warfare in Greece between 411 and 362 BC. Continuing the story of the... Meer

The Invaders
How Humans and Their Dogs Drove Neanderthals to Extinction

Engels | Hardcover | 2015

With their large brains, sturdy physique, sophisticated tools, and hunting skills, Neanderthals are the closest known relatives to... Meer

The Complete Roman Army

Engels | Paperback | 2011

The Complete Roman Army draws on archeology, ancient art and original documentary sources to present the most convincing picture... Meer

Latin Literature
A History

Engels | Paperback | 1999

This authoritative history of Latin literature offers a comprehensive survey of the thousand-year period from the origins of Latin... Meer

AD69
Emperors, Armies and Anarchy

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

With the death of Nero by his own shaky hand, the ill-sorted, ill-starred Iulio-Claudian dynasty came to an ignominious end, and... Meer

Objects and Identities
Roman Britain and the North-western Provinces

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

This volume explores Rome's northern provinces through the portable artefacts people used and left behind. Objects are crucial to... Meer

The Romans
From Village To Empire

Engels | Paperback | 2011

The Romans is currently the best textbook on Roman history available in English. --Walter Scheidel, Stanford University How did a... Meer

Marcus Agrippa
Right-Hand Man of Caesar Augustus

Engels | Hardcover | 2015

Marcus Agrippa personified the term 'right-hand man'. As Emperor Augustus' deputy, he waged wars, pacified provinces, beautified... Meer

Maurice'S Strategikon
Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy

Engels | Paperback | 2001

The most important Byzantine military text...The standard translation. --Walter Kaegi, University of Chicago As a veteran... Meer

Cuneiform
Ancient Scripts

Engels | Paperback | 2015

Meer

Gratis verzending!

22,99

Nog niet verschenen - reserveer een exemplaar Beschikbaar op 01-04-2015

Reserveer nu

Zet op verlanglijstje
The Complete Pyramids
Solving the Ancient Mysteries

Engels | Paperback | 2008

Powerful symbols of remote antiquity, the pyramids have intrigued and fascinated generations. In The Complete Pyramids , newly... Meer

The Histories

Engels | Paperback | 2003

Traditionally known as the Father of History, the Greek writer Herodotus(c. 484-420 BC), was the first man to tell a story in... Meer

Rise of an Empire
How One Man United Greece to Defeat Xerxes' Persians

Engels | Paperback | 2013

The true story behind the events in 300: Rise of an Empire , the sequel to Zack Snyder's 300 The action-filled movie 300 focused... Meer

Sophocles
Ajax

Engels | Paperback | 2014

Sophocles' Ajax describes the fall of a mighty warrior denied the honour which he believed was his due. This new edition of the... Meer

How to Manage Your Slaves by Marcus Sidonius Falx

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

At last a clear manual for managing slaves the Roman way. How to Manage your Slaves offers practical answers to every question... Meer

Point of Origin
Gobekli Tepe and the Spiritual Matrix for the World's Cosmologies

Engels | Paperback | 2015

How could multiple ancient cultures, spanning both years and geography, have strikingly similar creation myths and cosmologies?... Meer

Byzantine Warship vs Arab Warship
7th - 11th Centuries

Engels | Paperback | 2015

For four hundred years the Byzantine Empire's naval forces vied with the warships of the Islamic world for mastery of the... Meer

Emperor's Handbook, The
A New Translation of the Meditations

Engels | Other binding | 2002

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius' Meditations --a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most... Meer

Ghost on the Throne
The Death of Alexander the Great

Engels | Paperback | 2012

Alexander the Great, perhaps the most commanding leader in history, united his empire and his army by the titanic force of his... Meer

The Peloponnesian War
Athens And Sparta In Savage Conflict 431-404 Bc

Engels | Paperback | 2005

The Stalingrad of the ancient world, this is an immensely readable, brilliant, brutal and vivid history of the greatest and... Meer

Mathematics in the Time of the Pharaohs

Engels | Paperback | 1986

In this carefully researched study, the author examines Egyptian mathematics, demonstrating that although operations were limited... Meer

Symbol And Magic In Egyptian Art

Engels | Paperback | 1999

There is scarcely an Egyptian temple, pyramid, obelisk, wall painting or sculpture that does not possess some hidden meaning - a... Meer

The Fall of Carthage
The Punic Wars 265-146BC

Engels | Paperback | 2003

The struggle between Rome and Carthage in the Punic Wars was arguably the greatest and most desperate conflict of antiquity. The... Meer

The Fall of the Roman Empire
A New History of Rome and the Barbarians

Engels | Paperback | 2007

The death of the Roman Empire is one of the perennial mysteries of world history. Now, in this groundbreaking book, Peter Heather... Meer

Collapse
How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed

Engels | Paperback | 2011

In this fascinating book, Diamond seeks to understand the fates of past societies that collapsed for ecological reasons, combining... Meer

Virgil's Aeneid

Engels | Paperback | 1997

The supreme Roman epic and the greatest poem in Latin, the Aeneid has inspired many of the great European poets including Dante... Meer

Discourses on Livy

Engels | Paperback | 2008

Discourses on Livy is the founding document of modern republicanism, and Harvey C. Mansfield and Nathan Tarcov have provided the... Meer

Augustus
First Emperor of Rome

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

The story of how Augustus rose from an obscure teenager to become Rome's first and greatest emperor.In the year 44 BC, when Julius... Meer

Roman Warfare (Smithsonian History of Warfare)

Engels | Paperback | 2005

The Roman Army was the most advanced professional fighting force the world had ever seen. What distinguished the Roman Army from... Meer

Roman Imperial Architecture
The Yale University Press Pelican History of Art

Engels | Paperback | 1992

This history of Roman Imperial architecture looks at the interaction of two dominant themes - in Rome itself the emergence of a... Meer

Pagina: