New listpage

29.565 artikelen in Oudheid

  • Toon resultaten als:
  • Lijst
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
The Decline and fall of the Roman Empire

Engels | Paperback | 1997

Famously sceptical about Christianity, unexpectedly sympathetic to the barbarian invaders and the Byzantine Empire, constantly... Meer

Augustus
Introduction to the Life of an Emperor

Engels | Paperback | 2012

Augustus, Rome's first emperor, is one of the great figures of world history and one of the most fascinating. In this lively and... Meer

Power And Eroticism In Imperial Rome

Engels | Paperback | 2009

The relationships between Roman emperors and their objects of desire, male and female, are well attested. The salacious nature of... Meer

Rethinking the Other in Antiquity

Engels | Paperback | 2012

Prevalent among classicists today is the notion that Greeks, Romans, and Jews enhanced their own self-perception by contrasting... Meer

The Fall of Carthage
The Punic Wars 265-146BC

Engels | Paperback | 2007

The struggle between Rome and Carthage in the Punic Wars was arguably the greatest and most desperate conflict of antiquity. The... Meer

Fingerprints of the Gods
The Evidence of Earth's Lost Civilization

Engels | Paperback | 1996

klantbeoordeling: 3.0 van de 5 sterren

The bestselling author of The Sign and the Seal reveals the true origins of civilization. Connecting puzzling clues scattered... Meer

How to Manage Your Slaves by Marcus Sidonius Falx

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

At last a clear manual for managing slaves the Roman way. How to Manage your Slaves offers practical answers to every question... Meer

Cinematic Storytelling
The 100 Most Powerful Film Conventions Every Filmaker Must Know

Engels | Paperback | 2005

klantbeoordeling: 4.0 van de 5 sterren

How do directors use screen direction to suggest conflict? How do screenwriters exploit film space to show change? How does... Meer

The Woman Who Would Be King
Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

An engrossing biography of the longest-reigning female pharaoh in Ancient Egypt and the story of her audacious rise to... Meer

Collapse
How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed

Engels | Paperback | 2011

In this fascinating book, Diamond seeks to understand the fates of past societies that collapsed for ecological reasons, combining... Meer

End of Days
Armageddon and Prophecies of the Return

Engels | Paperback | 2008

It has been more than three decades since Zecharia Sitchin's trailblazing book The 12th Planet brought to life the Sumerian... Meer

Jewish Antiquities

Engels | Paperback | 2006

klantbeoordeling: 3.0 van de 5 sterren

The works of the Jewish writer Flavius Josephus represent one of the most important records of Judaism and the Jews that survive... Meer

Homer
Iliad Book 22

Engels | Paperback | 2012

Book XXII recounts the climax of the Iliad: the fatal encounter between the main defender of Troy and the greatest warrior of the... Meer

A Day in the Life of Ancient Rome

Engels | Paperback | 2009

A day of extraordinary voyage of exploration guided by Alberto Angela, beginning at dawn on an ordinary day in the year 115 AD,... Meer

The Complete Roman Army

Engels | Paperback | 2011

The Complete Roman Army draws on archeology, ancient art and original documentary sources to present the most convincing picture... Meer

Hadrian's Wall

Engels | Paperback | 1987

Stretching for 73 miles across northern England, Hadrian's Wall is the most important monument of Roman Britain, and the... Meer

The Archaeology of Mesopotamia
Theories and Approaches

Engels | Paperback | 2003

The only critical guide to the theory and method of Mesopotamian archaeology, this innovative volume evaluates the theories,... Meer

The New Complete Works of Josephus

Engels | Paperback | 1999

No source, other than the Bible itself, provides more relevant information on the first century than the work of Flavius Josephus.... Meer

Attila The Hun
A Barbarian King and the Fall of Rome

Engels | Paperback | 2006

The name Attila the Hun has become a byword for barbarism, savagery and violence. His is a truly household name, but what do we... Meer

The Colosseum

Engels | Paperback | 2011

The Colosseum was Imperial Rome's monument to warfare. Like a cathedral of death it towered over the city and invited its... Meer

The Republic and the Laws

Engels | Paperback | 2008

'However one defines Man, the same definition applies to us all. This is sufficient proof that there is no essential difference... Meer

The Gallic War
Seven Commentaries on the Gallic War with an Eighth Commentary by Aulus Hirtius

Engels | Paperback | 2008

The Gallic War, published on the eve of the civil war which led to the end of the Roman Republic, is an autobiographical account... Meer

An Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Uniforms of the Roman World
A Detailed Study of the Armies of Rome and Their Enemies, Including the Etruscans, Samnites, Carthaginians, Celts, Macedonians, Gauls, Huns, Sassaids, Persians and Turks

Engels | Hardcover | 2012

This is a detailed study of the armies of Rome and their enemies, including the Etruscans, Samnites, Carthaginians, Celts,... Meer

Persian Fire
The First World Empire, Battle for the West

Engels | Paperback | 2006

klantbeoordeling: 5.0 van de 5 sterren

In 480 BC, Xerxes, the King of Persia, led an invasion of mainland Greece. Its success should have been a formality. For seventy... Meer

Pompeii
The Life of a Roman Town

Engels | Paperback | 2009

Pompeii explodes a number of myths - from the very date of the eruption, probably a few months later than usually thought; the... Meer

Forbidden Archeology
The Hidden History of the Human Race

Engels | Hardcover | 1998

klantbeoordeling: 3.0 van de 5 sterren

Over the centuries, researchers have found bones and artefacts proving that humans have existed for millions of years. Mainstream... Meer

Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt
Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs

Engels | Paperback | 2010

From the pyramids in the north to the temples in the south, ancient artisans left their marks all over Egypt, unique marks that... Meer

The African Origin of Civilization
Myth or Reality?

Engels | Paperback | 1989

Now in its 30th printing, this classic presents historical, archaeological, and anthropological evidence to support the theory... Meer

The Art of Mayan Hieroglyphic Writing

Engels | Hardcover | 1990

This small catalog of an exhibition co-sponsored by Harvard's Peabody Museum and the Center for Inter-American Relations, New... Meer

Collapse of the Bronze Age
The Story of Greece, Troy, Israel, Egypt, and the Peoples of the Sea

Engels | Paperback | 2001

A revised edition of the casebook first published in 1968, this book contains new criticisms and reviews of new productions. It is... Meer

A History Of The Ancient Near East
Ca. 3000-323 Bc

Engels | Paperback | 2006

This book presents a clear, concise history of the extraordinary multicultural civilizations of the ancient Near East. *... Meer

The Ancient Paths
Discovering the Lost Map of Celtic Europe

Engels | Paperback | 2014

Graham Robb's new book will change the way you see European civilization.Inspired by a chance discovery, Robb became fascinated... Meer

The Histories

Engels | Paperback | 2003

Traditionally known as the Father of History, the Greek writer Herodotus(c. 484-420 BC), was the first man to tell a story in... Meer

The Painted Tomb-chapel of Nebamun
Masterpieces of Ancient Egyptian Art in the British Museum

Engels | Paperback | 2008

The paintings from Nebamuns tomb chapel are among the greatest and most famous of the British Museums treasures. Yet much about... Meer

The Experiences of Tiresias
The Feminine and the Greek Man

Engels | Paperback | 2014

Nicole Loraux has devoted much of her writing to charting the paths of the Greek imaginary, revealing a collective masculine... Meer

Rubicon
The Triumph And Tragedy Of The Roman Republic

Engels | Paperback | 2004

klantbeoordeling: 5.0 van de 5 sterren

The Roman Republic was the most remarkable state in history. What began as a small community of peasants camped among marshes and... Meer

Emperor's Handbook, The
A New Translation of the Meditations

Engels | Other binding | 2002

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius' Meditations --a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most... Meer

Alexander the Great

Engels | Paperback | 2004

From award-winning historian Robin Lane Fox, Alexander the Great searches through the mass of conflicting evidence and legend to... Meer

Graffiti and the Literary Landscape in Roman Pompeii

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

In this volume, Milnor considers how the fragments of textual graffiti which survive on the walls of the Roman city of Pompeii... Meer

Roman Helmets

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

The Roman military is an iconic, ancient institution; everybody is familiar with the image of fearsome Roman centurions marching... Meer

Plato Respublica

Engels | Hardcover | 2003

This is the first edition of Plato's Republic to be based on an exhaustive examination of all the textual evidence - manuscripts,... Meer

The Age of Alexander
Ten Greek Lives

Engels | Paperback | 2012

The Parallel Lives of Plutarch are cornerstones of Western literature, and have exerted a profound influence on writers and... Meer

Reading Greek
Grammar and Exercises

Engels | Paperback | 2007

First published in 1978, Reading Greek has become a best-selling one-year introductory course in ancient Greek for students and... Meer

Environmental Problems of the Greeks and Romans
Ecology in the Ancient Mediterranean

Engels | Paperback | 2014

In this dramatically revised and expanded second edition of the work entitled Pan's Travail, J. Donald Hughes examines the... Meer

Augustus
First Emperor of Rome

Engels | Hardcover | 2014

The story of how Augustus rose from an obscure teenager to become Rome's first and greatest emperor.In the year 44 BC, when Julius... Meer

The World Until Yesterday
What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?

Engels | Paperback | 2013

Over the past 500 years, the West achieved global dominance, but do Westerners necessarily have better ideas about how to raise... Meer

The Archaeology Of Ancient Greece

Engels | Paperback | 2001

The Archaeology of Ancient Greece, first published in 2001, provides a synthesis of research on the material culture of Greece in... Meer

Earthenware in Southeast Asia
Proceedings of the Singapore Symposium on Premodern Southeast Asian Earthenwares

Engels | Hardcover | 2003

Earthenware is the most important material in Southeast Asian archaeology, yet there has been little published work aimed at... Meer

Pagina:

Ga naar het hoofdmenu Ga naar het paginamenu Ga naar het begin van deze pagina