Unorthodox The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Afbeeldingen
Artikel vergelijken
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9781982148201
  • 19 maart 2020
  • 272 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Deborah Feldman

Deborah Feldman was raised in the Satmar Hasidic community in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. She now lives with her son in New England.

Samenvatting

Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the Bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womans escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Alis Infidel and Carolyn Jessops Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahs desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom. Remarkable and fascinating, this sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you wont be able to put down.

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
en
Bindwijze
Paperback
Oorspronkelijke releasedatum
19 maart 2020
Aantal pagina's
272
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Hoofdauteur
Deborah Feldman
Tweede Auteur
Deborah Feldman
Co Auteur
Cassandra Campbell
Hoofduitgeverij
Simon & Schuster

Vertaling

Eerste Vertaler
Christian Ruzicska
Tweede Vertaler
Ruzicska, Christian
Originele titel
Unorthodox

Overige kenmerken

Editie
Media Tie-In
Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Product breedte
140 mm
Product hoogte
15 mm
Product lengte
213 mm
Studieboek
Nee
Verpakking breedte
140 mm
Verpakking hoogte
15 mm
Verpakking lengte
213 mm
Verpakkingsgewicht
213 g

EAN

EAN
9781982148201

Reviews

1 review
0
1
0
0
0
  • Kijkje in orthodoxe wereld

    Positieve punten

    • Spannend
    • autobiografisch en authentiek prettig leesbaar

    Negatieve punten

    • Voorspelbaar
    • wat weinig informatie over haar 'ontsnapping'

    Boek geeft bijzonder inkijkje in een wereld die anders verborgen en gesloten blijft. Joodse sekte in New York, erg vrouwonvriendelijk. Dappere poging van de auteur om hier uit te breken. als ereaderboek gekocht omdat print uitverkocht was

    Vond je dit een nuttige review?
    1
    0
Prijsinformatie en bestellen
De prijs van dit product is 6 euro en 76 cent. De meest getoonde prijs is 7 euro en 14 cent. Je bespaart 5%.
Je bespaart 5%
Op voorraad
Select
Voor 23:59 besteld, morgen in huis
Verkoop door bol
In winkelwagen
  • Gratis verzending door bol vanaf 20 euro
  • Ophalen bij een bol afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Doordeweeks ook ’s avonds in huis
Bezorgopties
  • Kies zelf de bezorgdag

Alle bindwijzen en edities (6)

  • 14,53
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 25,99
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 6,76
    Op voorraad. Voor 23:59 besteld, morgen in huis Tooltip
  • 11,67
    2 - 3 weken Tooltip
  • 25,34
    1 - 2 weken Tooltip
  • 37,99
    2 - 3 weken Tooltip

Vaak samen gekocht

  • Exodus
    25,44
    Verkoop door Paagman BE
  • Onorthodox
    16,50
    Verkoop door bol
  • LJ Veen Klassiek - Hotel Savoy
    15,00
    Verkoop door bol
  • No Friend but the Mountains
    11,86
    Verkoop door bol
  • Minjan
    22,99
    Verkoop door bol