So How's the Family? And Other Essays

So How's the Family?
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9780520272286
  • Druk: 1
  • september 2013
  • 264 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Arlie Russell Hochschild

"Arlie Russell Hochschild (/ˈhoʊkʃɪld/; born January 15, 1940) is an American sociologist and academic. She is professor emerita of sociology at the University of California, Berkeley. Hochschild has long focused on the human emotions which underlie moral beliefs, practices, and social life generally. She is the author of nine books including, most recently Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right, a finalist for the National Book Award, and The Second Shift, The Managed Heart, and The Time Bind. In the tradition of C. Wright Mills, Hochschild continually tries to draw links between private troubles and social issues.

(Bron: Wikipedia. Beschikbaar onder de licentie Creative Commons Naamsvermelding/Gelijk delen.)"

Samenvatting

In this new collection of thirteen essays, Arlie Russell Hochschild—author of the groundbreaking exploration of emotional labor, The Managed Heart and The Outsourced Self—focuses squarely on the impact of social forces on the emotional side of intimate life.

From the “work" it takes to keep personal life personal, put feeling into work, and empathize with others; to the cultural “blur" between market and home; the effect of a social class gap on family wellbeing; and the movement of care workers around the globe, Hochschild raises deep questions about the modern age. In an eponymous essay, she even points towards a possible future in which a person asking “How's the family?" hears the proud answer, “Couldn't be better."

Recensie(s)

When Arlie Russell Hochschild asks, So How's the Family? she's not inquiring about your partner and kids. She has her sights on something bigger: the American family, even the global one. In this collection of essays, the noted Berkeley sociologist, author of The Outsourced Self, delves into ways in which the cultural line between market and home has become increasingly blurred as the social class gap has grown wider. The family, it turns out, is not doing so well worldwide, but Hochschild says there's hope. --Gayle Brandeis San Francisco Chronicle (09/06/2013)

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Druk
1
Verschijningsdatum
2013-08-28
Afmetingen
22,9 x 15,5 x 1,8 cm
Aantal pagina's
264 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

EAN

EAN
9780520272286

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Oorspronkelijke releasedatum
2013-09-13
Subtitel
And Other Essays
Thema Subject Code
JBSF

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Snelle bezorgopties
Gratis verzending
Nog geen reviews
32 -
Uiterlijk 23 december in huis Tooltip
Verkoop door partner van bol.com MyBoeken.nl
Andere verkopers (2)
  • Gratis verzending
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren

Vaak samen gekocht