Lilac Girls
  • Engels
  • Hardcover
  • 9781410491732
  • Druk: Large type / large print edition
  • augustus 2016
  • 710 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Martha Hall Kelly

Martha Hall Kelly werd geboren in New England en woont nu in Atlanta. Ze werkte in de reclamewereld voordat ze fulltime ging schrijven. Toen ze in 1999 op een tijdschriftartikel over Caroline Ferriday stuitte, raakte ze geïnspireerd om een roman gebaseerd op haar turbulente leven te schrijven. Dat werd de bestseller Seringenmeisjes, waarvan er meer dan een miljoen exemplaren zijn verkocht in de VS. Nu is ze terug met het prachtige Russische rozen.

Samenvatting

"NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER For readers of "The Nightingale" and "Sarah s Key, " inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.
New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline s world is forever changed when Hitler s army invades Poland in September 1939 and then sets its sights on France.
An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.
For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.
The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbruck, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.
In "Lilac Girls, " Martha Hall Kelly has crafted a remarkable novel of unsung women and their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. It is a story that will keep readers bonded with the characters, searching for the truth, until the final pages.
"USA Today" New and Noteworthy Book "LibraryReads" Top Ten Pick
Harrowing . . . "Lilac "illuminates. "People"
A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . "Lilac Girls" falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It s smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read. "Fort Worth Star-Telegram"
A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history s most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears. "San Francisco Book Review"
Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah s "The Nightingale" and Anthony Doerr s" All the Light We Cannot See." "Library Journal" (starred review)
A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly s vivid depiction of history and excellent characters. "Publishers Weekly"
Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbruck. "Kirkus Reviews
"
Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history women s history that should never be forgotten. Lisa See, "New York Times"bestselling author of"China Dolls"
Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . .the best book I ve read all year. Jamie Ford, " New York Times" bestselling author of "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet""

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Hardcover
Druk
Large type / large print edition
Verschijningsdatum
augustus 2016
Afmetingen
Afmeting: 22,2 x 14,6 x 3,8 cm
Aantal pagina's
710 pagina's
Illustraties
Met illustraties

Betrokkenen

Auteur(s)
Martha Hall Kelly Martha Hall Kelly
Uitgever
Thorndike Press

EAN

EAN
9781410491732

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Ja
Gewicht
748 g
Studieboek
Nee
Verpakking breedte
140 mm
Verpakking hoogte
38 mm
Verpakking lengte
218 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
4.0
van de 5
Aantal reviews: 2
0
0
0
2
0
  • De kracht van de vrouw
    • Spannend
    • je wil het in een keer uit lezen
    • een beetje voorspelbaar 'happy end'

    Geschreven bij Lilac Girls

    Een boeiend geschiedenis van drie vrouwen die alle drie op hun eigen manier de tweede wereld oorlog doorstaan.

  • Een boek dat je niet zomaar weg kunt leggen
    • Spannend
    • Moeilijk in te komen
    • even inkomen qua verhaallijn

    Geschreven bij Lilac Girls

    Verhaal over de Tweede Wereldoorlog, verteld door 3 verschillende characters.

42 99
2 - 3 weken Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Prijs inclusief verzendkosten, verstuurd door bol.com
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice

Alle bindwijzen en edities (5)

  • 23,24
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 15,99
    2 - 3 weken Tooltip
  • 17,99
    Uiterlijk 21 mei in huis Tooltip
  • 42,99
    2 - 3 weken Tooltip
  • 22,99
    Uiterlijk 28 mei in huis Tooltip