Plum Tree
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9781496730022
  • januari 2020
  • 400 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Ellen Marie Wiseman

Ellen Marie Wiseman schrijft over de lichtpuntjes in de zwartste bladzijden van de geschiedenis. Haar debuut 'De pruimenboom' is geïnspireerd op de kindertijd van haar moeder en werd zeer lovend ontvangen. Vervolgens schreef ze de romans 'Wat ze achterliet', 'De brekerjongens' en 'Olifantenmeisje'. Afgezien van haar succes als schrijfster leidt Ellen Marie Wiseman een vredig leven aan de kust van Lake Ontario. Ze is getrouwd en heeft twee kinderen.

Samenvatting

"A touching story of heroism and loss, a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of love to transcend the most unthinkable circumstances."
&;Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris


From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a haunting and lyrical tale of love and humanity in a time of unthinkable horror. The debut novel from a powerful voice in historical fiction, this resonant and courageous saga of a young German woman during World War II and the Holocaust is a must-read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network.

&;Bloom where you're planted," is the advice Christine Bölz receives from her beloved Oma. But seventeen-year-old domestic Christine knows there is a whole world waiting beyond her small German village. It's a world she's begun to glimpse through music, books&;and through Isaac Bauerman, the cultured son of the wealthy Jewish family she works for.

Yet the future she and Isaac dream of sharing faces greater challenges than their difference in stations. In the fall of 1938, Germany is changing rapidly under Hitler's regime. Anti-Jewish posters are everywhere, dissenting talk is silenced, and a new law forbids Christine from returning to her job&;and from having any relationship with Isaac. In the months and years that follow, Christine will confront the Gestapo's wrath and the horrors of Dachau, desperate to be with the man she loves, to survive&;and finally, to speak out.

Set against the backdrop of the German homefront, this is an unforgettable novel of courage and resolve, of the inhumanity of war, and the heartbreak and hope left in its wake.

"A haunting and beautiful debut novel."
&;Anna Jean Mayhew, author of The Dry Grass of August

"Ellen Marie Wiseman boldly explores the complexities of the Holocaust. This novel is at times painful, but it is also a satisfying love story set against the backdrop of one of the most difficult times in human history."
&;T. Greenwood, author of Keeping Lucy

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
januari 2020
Aantal pagina's
400 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Ellen Marie Wiseman
Uitgever
Kensington Publishing

EAN

EAN
9781496730022

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Gewicht
378 g
Verpakking breedte
139 mm
Verpakking hoogte
35 mm
Verpakking lengte
210 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Nog geen reviews
17 99
Uiterlijk 9 februari in huis Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
In winkelwagen
Wat je kan verwachten:
  • Gratis verzending door bol.com vanaf 20 euro
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
Andere verkopers (1)
Snelste levering
Uiterlijk 5 februari in huis
Snelste levering

Alle bindwijzen en edities (4)

  • 10,99
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 17,99
    Uiterlijk 9 februari in huis Tooltip
  • 28,99
    Uiterlijk 9 februari in huis Tooltip
  • 37,99
    Uiterlijk 9 februari in huis Tooltip