San Mateo's Axe
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9781492281610
  • september 2013
  • 234 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

Set in New Mexico in the early 1800s, "San Mateo’s Axe" tells the story of Victoria Griego y Lucero and her two friends as they struggle to find meaning in a wilderness in which men and women were married at ages 12 and 15 and often dead by 21. Like San Mateo (Saint Matthew) carrying the axe with which he was ultimately executed, Victoria carries the weight of the dangerous New Mexican frontier on her shoulders. She longs for Spain, but surviving or dying in the wilderness are her only options.The book will appeal to individuals interested in New Mexico at the end of the Spanish Colonial Era and the beginning of the Mexican Era. "San Mateo’s Axe" will also likely appeal to readers of Miguel De Unamuno, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, and Paulo Coelho, the respective writers of "Niebla", "The Shadow of the Wind", and "The Alchemist". The book has a modest amount of Spanish, which where possible, adheres to traditional early New Mexican forms. The book deals with a range of issues likely more suited for a mature reader--death, religious questioning, the nature of relationships, and honest portrayal of human brutality.

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
september 2013
Aantal pagina's
234 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

EAN

EAN
9781492281610

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Gewicht
349 g
Verpakking breedte
152 mm
Verpakking hoogte
13 mm
Verpakking lengte
229 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Nog geen reviews
Bindwijze: Paperback
13 57
Verwacht over 10 weken Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
In winkelwagen
Wat je kan verwachten:
  • Gratis verzending door bol.com vanaf 20 euro
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice