Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

Auteur: Juliet Grames
Taal: Engels
Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Auteur: Juliet Grames
Uitgever: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9781473686281
  • januari 2019
  • 448 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

A perfect book club and holiday read that crosses from early 20th century Calabria to Connecticut and will appeal to fans of Captain Correlli's Mandolin, All the Light We Cannot See and Brooklyn.
When I tell you Stella Fortuna was a special girl, I hope you aren't thinking small-town special. Other people would underestimate Stella Fortuna during her long life, and not one of them didn't end up regretting it.

Hundred-year-old Stella Fortuna sits alone in her house in Wethersfield, Connecticut, crocheting blankets and angrily ignoring her sister, Tina, who lives across the street. Born into abject poverty in an Italian village, Stella Fortuna's name might mean Lucky Star, but for the last century, her life has been defined by all the times she might have died. Up until now, Stella's close bond with her sister has been one of the few things to survive her tumultuous life, but something has happened, and nobody can understand what it might be. Does the one life and many (near) deaths of Stella Fortuna have secrets still to be revealed, even to those who believe they are closest to her?

By turns a family saga, a ghost story, and a coming-of cranky-old-age tale, Juliet Grames's THE SEVEN OR EIGHT DEATHS OF STELLA FORTUNA lays bare the costs of migration and patriarchal values, but also of the love and devotion that can sustain a family through generations, in a sprawling 20th century saga of a young woman with a fire inside her which cannot be put out.

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
januari 2019
Afmetingen
23,4 x 15,3 x 3,6 cm
Aantal pagina's
448 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Juliet Grames
Uitgever
Hodder & Stoughton

EAN

EAN
9781473686281

Overige kenmerken

NUR code
340
Thema Subject Code
FB

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Nog geen reviews
Bindwijze: Paperback
20 99
Uiterlijk 30 januari in huis Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
Andere verkopers (2)
Snelste levering
Op voorraad. Voor 23:00 uur besteld, maandag in huis
Snelste levering
  • Gratis verzending
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Cadeautje? Laat het voor je inpakken en bezorgen