Speak No Evil EBOOK Tooltip

  • bol.com Kobo LeesappEbooks lezen is heel makkelijk. Na aankoop zijn ze direct beschikbaar op je Kobo e-reader en op je smartphone of tablet met de gratis bol.com Kobo app.

  • Engels
  • E-book
  • 9780062199096
  • maart 2018
  • Adobe ePub
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

Winner of the Gold Nautilus Award for Fiction | A Lambda Literary Award Finalist | A Barbara Gittings Literature Award Finalist | An Indie Next Pick | A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month | A Library Journal Best Book of the Year


''A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read.''—Gary Shteyngart


''A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction.''—Larissa MacFarquhar


In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.


On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him.


When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.


In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.


One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste**'s****25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of** The Boston Globe**'s 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018**

Recensie(s)

That Iweala is a writer of spectacular talent is without question * Observer * Elegant and elegiac * Bookseller * Adept storytelling and eye for lucid detail . . . it has the stomach-churning pace of a Greek tragedy * Financial Times * Uzodinma Iweala . . . reminds his readers of the underlying humanity of his characters, whatever their heritage, race, or sexuality * TLS * Elegant and elegiac, and evokes Washington DC with subtle power -- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie * Guardian * A craftily written heart-wrencher, it explores what it means to be black and queer in today's USA * Independent, Best LGBT novels to look out for in 2018 * A quietly tragic triumph * Financial Times * A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction * Larissa MacFarquhar * A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read * Gary Shteyngart, author of Little Failure * Speak No Evil is the rarest of novels: the one you start out just to read, then end up sinking so deeply into it, seeing yourself so clearly in it, that the novel starts reading you * Marlon James * Tackling race, gender and violence, it's a sharp burst of emotion * Stylist * Stunning * Vogue * The soul of Speak No Evil is the tortuous, exquisitely rendered relationship between Niru and his father * New Yorker * A finely observed coming-of-age story . . . an emotional eloquence that reveals the awful power of love and guilt * Mail on Sunday * A memorable book from an important talent * Guardian *

Lees de eerste pagina's

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
E-book
Verschijningsdatum
maart 2018
Ebook formaat
Adobe ePub
Illustraties
Nee
Thema Subject Code
Onderwerp: Moderne en hedendaagse fictie

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Uzodinma Iweala
Uitgever
John Murray Press

Lees mogelijkheden

Lees dit ebook op
Desktop (Mac en Windows) | Kobo e-reader | Android (smartphone en tablet) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet) | Overige e-reader

EAN

EAN
9780062199096

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Ebook
Land
Verenigde Staten
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Nog geen reviews
18 14
Direct beschikbaar
Verkoop door bol.com
  • E-book is direct beschikbaar na aankoop
  • E-books lezen is voordelig
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Veilig betalen

Vaak samen gekocht

Alle bindwijzen en edities (10)

  • 3,99
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 18,14
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 26,95
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 21,77
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 16,99
    Uiterlijk 27 november in huis Tooltip
  • 11,99
    Uiterlijk 23 november in huis Tooltip
  • 23,99
    Uiterlijk 29 november in huis Tooltip
  • 23,00
    Uiterlijk 25 november in huis Tooltip
  • 15,99
    Uiterlijk 27 november in huis Tooltip
  • 26,99
    2 - 3 weken Tooltip