The City of Flickering Light

The City of Flickering Light
Auteur: Juliette Fay
Uitgever: Gallery Books
  • Engels
  • Hardcover
  • 9781501192944
  • april 2019
  • 400 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Juliette Fay

Juliette Fay received a bachelor's degree from Boston College and a master's degree from Harvard University. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband and four children. Shelter Me was her first novel. Deep Down True is her second.

Samenvatting

Juliette Fay&;&;one of the best authors of women&;s fiction&; (Library Journal)&;transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen&;perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It&;s July 1921, &;flickers&; are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth&;iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating&;and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn&;t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her &;trademark wit and grace&; (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer&;s Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Hardcover
Verschijningsdatum
april 2019
Aantal pagina's
400 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Juliette Fay
Uitgever
Gallery Books

EAN

EAN
9781501192944

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Gewicht
567 g
Verpakking breedte
155 mm
Verpakking hoogte
38 mm
Verpakking lengte
231 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Nog geen reviews
32 -
Uiterlijk 2 november in huis Tooltip
Verkoop door MyBoeken.nl 9.1
In winkelwagen
Wat je kan verwachten:
  • Bestellen en betalen via bol.com
  • Gratis verzending door MyBoeken.nl
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Wettelijke garantie via MyBoeken.nl
Andere verkopers (1)