The Concubine's Child EBOOK Tooltip

Auteur: Carol Jones
Taal: Engels
  • bol.com Kobo LeesappEbooks lezen is heel makkelijk. Na aankoop zijn ze direct beschikbaar op je Kobo e-reader en op je smartphone of tablet met de gratis bol.com Kobo app.

Auteur: Carol Jones
Uitgever: Head Of Zeus
  • Engels
  • E-book
  • 9781786699800
  • april 2018
  • Adobe ePub
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

An evocative, multi-generational tale of a family haunted by the death of a young concubine. For fans of Dinah Jefferies and Amy Tan.


In 1930s Malaya a sixteen-year-old girl, dreaming of marriage to her sweetheart, is sold as a concubine to a rich old man desperate for an heir. Trapped, and bullied by his spiteful wife, Yu Lan plans to escape with her baby son, despite knowing that they will pursue her to the ends of the earth.


Four generations later, her great-grandson, Nick, will return to Malaysia, looking for the truth behind the facade of a house cursed by the unhappy past. Nothing can prepare him for what he will find.


This exquisitely rich novel brings to life a vanished world – a world of abandoned ghost houses, inquisitive monkeys, smoky temples and a panoply of gods and demons. A world where a poor girl can be sold to fulfil a rich man's dream. But though he can buy her body, he can never capture her soul, nor quench her spirit.


WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:


'Compelling, atmospheric and emotional'


'Well-written, compelling ... A tale of duty, treachery, misery and superstition'


'Wonderfully drawn characters, searing emotion, powerful intensity and nail-biting drama'.

Recensie(s)

Inspired by Jones' own family history, The Concubine's Child is well-crafted, emotionally rich and eminently readable. --Post Magazine She weaves in just enough of the culture to make it believable, conjuring images of old and present-day KL and walks us through the characters' day-to-day. . . . Kudos as well to the writing. We jump back and forth between two periods yet don't feel jet-lagged. And it's nicely plotted, too. --Malay Mail

Lees de eerste pagina's

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
E-book
Verschijningsdatum
april 2018
Ebook formaat
Adobe ePub
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Carol Jones
Uitgever
Head Of Zeus

Lees mogelijkheden

Lees dit ebook op
Android (smartphone en tablet) | Kobo e-reader | Desktop (Mac en Windows) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet) | Overige e-reader

EAN

EAN
9781786699800

Overige kenmerken

Thema Subject Code
FR

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Ebook
Beschikbaar in Kobo Plus
Beschikbaar in Kobo Plus
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Nog geen reviews
6 99
Direct beschikbaar
Verkoop door bol.com
  • E-book is direct beschikbaar na aankoop
  • E-books lezen is voordelig
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Veilig betalen

Alle bindwijzen en edities (4)

  • 6,99
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 11,99
    Uiterlijk 1 februari in huis Tooltip
  • 17,99
    Uiterlijk 1 februari in huis Tooltip
  • 23,99
    Uiterlijk 8 februari in huis Tooltip