The Princess and the Horse
Afbeelding 1 van 2
  • Engels
  • Hardcover
  • 9781939993540
  • Druk: 1
  • maart 2015
  • 280 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

Fierce's mother has left her pack to become a human. Left behind, Fierce is determined to have nothing to do with humans. But one day she finds a woman who reminds her of her mother in the forest. She hesitates for a moment, just long enough for the woman--Princess Jaleel--to turn her into a human with the wild magic. Soon Fierce is dragged into human concerns about the effects of the misuse of wild magic by Princess Jaleel. Will Fierce choose to be human and save the world or to be a hound again and save herself? "One of my favorite authors." Orson Scott Card Praise for The Princess and the Hound, the first book in this series: " P]owerful, surprising, moving, and deep. . . The Princess and the Hound is a classic. It defies rules and formulas. It does nothing in the way that other fantasies have taught us to expect. Yet every rule-defying decision by Harrison is exactly right, leading to a breathtakingly right ending." Orson Scott Card "Fans of Robin McKinley, Patricia McKillip, Franny Billingsley, Cornelia Funke and Sherwood Smith should add this to their "must" be read list." Heidi Anne Heiner, SurlaLune Fairy Tales "Not since Tale of Desperaux have I opened a book and wanted to read aloud so much. In her prologue Mette Ivie Harrison evoked exactly the tone and voice of a classic fairy tale in the oral tradition. . ." interactivereader.com For The Princess and the Bear: "The relationships between animal and human, and the magic in being both, are exquisitely delineated, and the love story between the two strong protagonists is all the more powerful for being intensely restrained." Kirkus, starred review. For The Princess and the Snowbird: "Once again, a strong female protagonist, romance, magical adventure and provocative questions will capture teens." Gillian Engberg, Bookilist "Harrison's fairy tales always feel like they are full of untapped depth to me." Melissa Baldwin "The love of the hound and the bear is one for the ages. . . . This unusual princess story is less about castles and gowns and more about characters and journeys." Jessica Harrison, Deseret News Other praise for Mette Ivie Harrison's books: " A]n extraordinary novel . . . I cannot recommend this novel highly enough . . . Mira, Mirror is one of those rare things - an imaginative fantasy that is also a deep novel about the human spirit. One of the most original, insightful fantasy novels ever written . . .This is a classic; you don't want to miss it." Orson Scott Card Mira, Mirror "grips you from the very first page all the way to the surprising conclusion." Holly Black, author of The Spiderwick Chronicles "Enchanting story . . . Mira is perhaps the most intriguing and complex protagonist ever to grace the pages of a re-told fairy tale. . . .Mira, Mirror is truly original." Amie Rose Rotruck, Children's Literature "Harrison brilliantly recasts a minor prop from the original story as a tragic heroine, and, in doing so, adds a whole new dimension to the tale, for a job well done." Michael M. Jones, Chronicle Mira, Mirror awards: Spirit 0f 76 Recommended Book List "Borders Recommends" List Association of Mormon Letters Honorable Mention for Juvenile Books 2004 The Center for Children's Literature "Too Good to Miss" List 2005 Utah Center for the Book Letters for Literature Level II 2005-2006 Winner The Children's Bookstore "Pick of the Month" November/December 2004

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Hardcover
Druk
1
Verschijningsdatum
maart 2015
Afmetingen
22,9 x 15,2 x 1,9 cm
Aantal pagina's
280 pagina's
Aanbevolen leeftijd
12 - 17 jaar
Illustraties
Nee

EAN

EAN
9781939993540

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Gewicht
567 g
Verpakking breedte
152 mm
Verpakking hoogte
19 mm
Verpakking lengte
229 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Leeftijd
vanaf 12 jaar, vanaf 13 jaar
Onderwerp
Fantasy
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Nog geen reviews
Bindwijze: Hardcover
25 99
2 - 3 weken Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
In winkelwagen
Wat je kan verwachten:
  • Gratis verzending door bol.com
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice