The Thousand Names

The Shadow Campaigns #1

Uitgever: RoC

Auteur: Django Wexler
  • Engels
  • 1e druk
  • 9780451418050
  • juli 2014
  • Paperback
  • 609 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Django Wexler

Django Wexler is the author of the Shadow Campaigns novels, including The Infernal Battalion, The Guns of Empire, The Price of Valor, The Shadow Throne, and The Thousand Names. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts. He is also the author of the middle-grade fantasy novels The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice, and The Palace of Glass.

Samenvatting

Set in an alternate nineteenth century, muskets and magic are weapons to be feared in the first "spectacular epic" (Fantasy Book Critic) in Django Wexler's Shadow Campaigns series.

Captain Marcus d'Ivoire, commander of one of the Vordanai empire's colonial garrisons, was serving out his days in a sleepy, remote outpost—until a rebellion left him in charge of a demoralized force clinging to a small fortress at the edge of the desert.

To flee from her past, Winter Ihernglass masqueraded as a man and enlisted as a ranker in the Vordanai Colonials, hoping only to avoid notice. But when chance sees her promoted to command, she must lead her men into battle against impossible odds.

Their fate depends on Colonel Janus bet Vhalnich. Under his command, Marcus and Winter feel the tide turning and their allegiance being tested. For Janus's ambitions extend beyond the battlefield and into the realm of the supernatural—a realm with the power to reshape the known world and change the lives of everyone in its path.

Recensie(s)

The Coolest Fantasy Story You'll Read This Week i09 an excellent book SFX A spectacular epic Fantasy Book Critic Exceptional military fantasy -- Jason M. Hough National Bestselling author of The Darwin Elevator Wexler's polished military fantasy, first in the Shadow Campaign series, distinguishes itself from other epic doorstops with its unique setting, intricate plotting, and layered characters...This excellent series debut is for fans of Peter Brett, Daniel Abraham, and Joe Abercrombie. Booklist

4.0
van de 5
1 review
0
0
0
1
0
5
  • Spannend
    1
  • Grappig
    1
  • Fantasierijk
    1
  • Meeslepend verhaal
    1
  • Goed plot
    1
1
  • Voorspelbaar plot
    1
Toon meer punten Toon alleen de eerste 3 punten
  • woestijn, musket en magie
    • Spannend
    • Grappig
    • Fantasierijk
    • Meeslepend verhaal
    • Goed plot
    • Voorspelbaar plot
    Toon alle punten Toon alleen de eerste 3 punten

    The Thousand Names is een lekker weg lezende combinatie van musketoorlogvoering en magie, waarin dat laatste niet te overweldigend of te overdreven is. De karakters zijn geloofwaardig en driedimensionaal uitgewerkt, met goede motivatie en eigenaardigheden. Het enigste minpunt is dat de uiteindelijke "grote verassing" voorspelbaar was en ruim van te voren werd aangekondigd.

    Vond je dit een nuttige review?
    0 0 Ongepaste review?

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
juli 2014
Druk
1e druk
Afmetingen
17 x 10,7 x 3,8 cm
Aantal pagina's
609 pagina's
Aanbevolen leeftijd
18 jaar
Illustraties
Nee
ISBN13
9780451418050

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Django Wexler
Uitgever
RoC

EAN

EAN
9780451418050

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Uitvoering
Boek
Nieuw of tweedehands
Tweedehands, Nieuw
Verschijningsvorm
Paperback

Uit ons lees Magazine

The Fates Divide: “The Fates Divide leest in principe lekker weg, maar…”

Recensie over The Fates Divide van Veronica Roth door Jessica Dillema

Lees volledig artikel
7, 59
10 - 11 dagen Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Cadeautje? Laat het voor je inpakken en bezorgen
Andere verkopers (1)

Vaak samen gekocht

Alle bindwijzen en edities (3)

  • 10,99
    Direct beschikbaar
  • 7,59
    10 - 11 dagen Tooltip
  • 15,99
    10 - 11 dagen Tooltip

Vragen en antwoorden (0)