Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro, gratis retourneren, bezorging waar en wanneer je wilt met   artikelen*

True North

Travels in Arctic Europe

  • Engelstalig
  • 304 pagina's
  • 2nd ed.
  • 9781846971303
  • april 2010
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

'True North... stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North, and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum, as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon'-Robert Macfarlane

The Stark, vast beauty of the Arctic Europe landscape has seduced explorers and adventurers for thousands of years. In this striking blend of travel writing, history and mythology, Gavin Francis offers a unique portrait of the northern outposts of Europe.

His journey begins in Shetland and takes him to the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Greenland, then Svalbard and on to Lapland. Francis explores the creeping effects of climate change and the impact that modern culture with its 'guns, trucks, pornography and alchohol' has made on fragile and isolated Arctic communities.

As with all the best travel writing, True North is an engaging, compassionate tale of self-discovery, blending historical and contemporary narratives in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Robert Macfarlane.

Recensie(s)

'A great web of interconnecting sagas' - The Scotsman 'True North is a wonder-voyage - an immrama - out into the landscape of the northern regions, but also into the mindscape of those many travellers who have been drawn irresistibly northwards over the millennia. Fluent, subtle, tough and often beautiful, True North stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon' - Robert Macfarlane 'A deep empathy with the land and its history runs like a golden thread through every chapter of True North.' - Sara Wheeler, The Spectator Gavin Francis is an accomplished teller of traveller's tales. His nuanced, often witty, observations of the people and places he encounters mean True North really gets under the skin of Europe's magical north' - Sunday Herald

Productspecificaties

Auteur
Francis Gavin Gavin Francis
Taal
Engels
Afmetingen
30x196x130 mm
Gewicht
333,00 gram
Verschijningsdatum
april 2010
Druk
1
ISBN10
1846971306
ISBN13
9781846971303

Je vindt dit boek in

Categorieën
Uitvoering
Boek
Landen
IJsland & Groenland
Continent
Europa
Verschijningsjaar
2010

Reviews True North

Zeer goed Goed Gemiddeld Onvoldoende Slecht

Voor dit artikel zijn er nog geen reviews geschreven. Schrijf nu zelf de eerste review.

Uit ons lees Magazine

Rondtrekken en verdwalen: de tien mooiste reisverhalen voor thuis

Hoofdredacteur Janneke Siebelink heeft een e-reader vol parels. Ze heeft de mooiste op een rijtje gezet voor Lees Magazine.

Lees volledig artikel
11, 99
6 - 7 dagen Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Cadeautje? Laat het voor je inpakken en bezorgen
Andere verkopers (2)

Vaak samen gekocht

Vragen en antwoorden

Over dit artikel zijn nog geen vragen gesteld.