Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro, gratis retourneren, bezorging waar en wanneer je wilt met   artikelen*

True North

Travels in Arctic Europe

  • Engels
  • 1e druk
  • 9781846971303
  • april 2010
  • Paperback
  • 304 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

'True North... stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North, and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum, as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon'-Robert Macfarlane

The Stark, vast beauty of the Arctic Europe landscape has seduced explorers and adventurers for thousands of years. In this striking blend of travel writing, history and mythology, Gavin Francis offers a unique portrait of the northern outposts of Europe.

His journey begins in Shetland and takes him to the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Greenland, then Svalbard and on to Lapland. Francis explores the creeping effects of climate change and the impact that modern culture with its 'guns, trucks, pornography and alchohol' has made on fragile and isolated Arctic communities.

As with all the best travel writing, True North is an engaging, compassionate tale of self-discovery, blending historical and contemporary narratives in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Robert Macfarlane.

Recensie(s)

'A great web of interconnecting sagas' - The Scotsman 'True North is a wonder-voyage - an immrama - out into the landscape of the northern regions, but also into the mindscape of those many travellers who have been drawn irresistibly northwards over the millennia. Fluent, subtle, tough and often beautiful, True North stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon' - Robert Macfarlane 'A deep empathy with the land and its history runs like a golden thread through every chapter of True North.' - Sara Wheeler, The Spectator Gavin Francis is an accomplished teller of traveller's tales. His nuanced, often witty, observations of the people and places he encounters mean True North really gets under the skin of Europe's magical north' - Sunday Herald

Reviews True North

Schrijf een review
  • Leest lekker weg

    Vlot geschreven reisverhaal, waarin eigen reizen en historische en mythologische verhalen elkaar afwisselen. De eigen reisbeslommeringen gaan af en toe wat vervelen, maar over het algemeen zeer leesbaar en met net iets meer diepgang dan alleen een eigen reisrelaas.

    Vond je dit een nuttige review?
    0 0 Ongepaste review?

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
april 2010
Druk
1e druk
Afmetingen
19,7 x 12,9 x 2,9 cm
Aantal pagina's
304 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee
ISBN13
9781846971303

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Francis Gavin Gavin Francis
Uitgever
Birlinn General

EAN

EAN
9781846971303

Overige kenmerken

Extra groot lettertype
Nee

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Aanraders
Bestbeoordeeld
Nieuw of tweedehands
Nieuw
Verschijningsvorm
Paperback
Type boek
Bundels

Uit ons lees Magazine

Het verhaal van de dienstmaagd: "Er is geen sprake van liefde, wel van dwang'

Recensie over Het verhaal van de dienstmaagd door Katrien Wittemans

Lees volledig artikel
11, 99
5 - 6 dagen Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Cadeautje? Laat het voor je inpakken en bezorgen
Andere verkopers (3)

Vaak samen gekocht

Vragen en antwoorden (0)