True North

Travels in Arctic Europe

  • Engels
  • 1e druk
  • 9781846971303
  • april 2010
  • Paperback
  • 304 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

The stark, vast beauty of the remote Arctic Europe landscape has been the focus of human exploration for thousands of years. In this striking blend of travel writing, history and mythology, Gavin Francis offers a unique portrait of the northern fringes of Europe. His journey begins in the Shetland Isles, takes him to the Faroes, Iceland, Greenland, Svalbard and on to Lapland. Following in the footsteps of the region's early pioneers, Francis observes how the region has adapted to the 21st century, giving an observed insight into the lives of people he encounters along the way. As with all the best travel writing, True North is an engaging, compassionate tale of self-discovery, whilst blending historical and contemporary narratives in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Robert Macfarlane.

Recensie(s)

'A great web of interconnecting sagas' - The Scotsman 'True North is a wonder-voyage - an immrama - out into the landscape of the northern regions, but also into the mindscape of those many travellers who have been drawn irresistibly northwards over the millennia. Fluent, subtle, tough and often beautiful, True North stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon' - Robert Macfarlane 'A deep empathy with the land and its history runs like a golden thread through every chapter of True North.' - Sara Wheeler, The Spectator Gavin Francis is an accomplished teller of traveller's tales. His nuanced, often witty, observations of the people and places he encounters mean True North really gets under the skin of Europe's magical north' - Sunday Herald

5.0
van de 5
1 review
0
0
0
0
1
0
0
  • Leest lekker weg

    Vlot geschreven reisverhaal, waarin eigen reizen en historische en mythologische verhalen elkaar afwisselen. De eigen reisbeslommeringen gaan af en toe wat vervelen, maar over het algemeen zeer leesbaar en met net iets meer diepgang dan alleen een eigen reisrelaas.

    Vond je dit een nuttige review?
    0 0 Ongepaste review?

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Verschijningsdatum
april 2010
Druk
1e druk
Afmetingen
19,7 x 12,9 x 2,9 cm
Aantal pagina's
304 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Francis Gavin Gavin Francis
Uitgever
Birlinn General

EAN

EAN
9781846971303

Overige kenmerken

Editie
2nd
Extra groot lettertype
Nee
Subtitel
Travels in Arctic Europe

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Uitvoering
Boek
Verschijningsvorm
Paperback
Type boek
Bundels
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
12, 99
6 - 7 dagen Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Gratis verzending vanaf 20 euro
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
Andere verkopers (1)
Snelste levering
5 - 7 dagen
Snelste levering

Vaak samen gekocht

Vragen en antwoorden (0)