Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? Jeanette Winterson

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9780099556091
  • Druk: 1
  • april 2012
  • 240 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Jeanette Winterson

"Jeanette Winterson (1959) schrijft romans, verhalen, essays en kinderboeken. In 1985 kwam haar debuut, Sinaasappelen zijn niet de einige vruchten, uit. De BBC bewerkte deze roman tot een televisieserie, die onder de titel Sinaasappels en demonen in ons land door de NOS werd uitgezonden.Voor The Passion uit 1987 ontving Winterson de John Llewelyn Rhys Memorial Prize. Voor Sexing the cherry (1989) de E. M. Forster Award. In 2006 werd ze voor haar verdiensten voor de literatuur benoemd tot Officer of the British Empire. Website Jeanette Winterson Op bol.com vind je alle boeken van Jeanette Winterson, waaronder het nieuwste boek van Jeanette Winterson.

(Foto: Wikipedia. Beschikbaar onder de licentie Creative Commons Naamsvermelding/Gelijk delen.)"

Samenvatting

The shocking, heart-breaking - and often very funny - true story behind Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit. In 1985 Jeanette Winterson's first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, was published. It was Jeanette's version of the story of a terraced house in Accrington, an adopted child, and the thwarted giantess Mrs Winterson. It was a cover story, a painful past written over and repainted. It was a story of survival. This book is that story's the silent twin. It is full of hurt and humour and a fierce love of life. It is about the pursuit of happiness, about lessons in love, the search for a mother and a journey into madness and out again. It is generous, honest and true. 'Unforgettable... It's the best book I have ever read about the cost of growing up' Daisy Goodwin, Sunday Times **ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE 21st CENTURY**

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
Paperback
Druk
1
Verschijningsdatum
april 2012
Afmetingen
Afmeting: 20,4 x 13,1 x 1,8 cm
Aantal pagina's
240 pagina's
Illustraties
Nee

Betrokkenen

Auteur(s)
Jeanette Winterson
Uitgever
Vintage Publishing

EAN

EAN
9780099556091

Overige kenmerken

Gewicht
177 g
Studieboek
Nee
Verpakking breedte
130 mm
Verpakking hoogte
17 mm
Verpakking lengte
194 mm

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Nieuw of tweedehands
Tweedehands
4,5
van de 5
4 reviews
0
0
0
2
2
  • orkaankracht
    • Meeslepend verhaal

    Geschreven bij Why be Happy When You Could be Normal?

    ‘I wrote a story I could live with,’ zegt Jeanette Winterson over Oranges are not the only fruit, waarmee ze debuteerde toen ze 25 jaar was. In Why be happy when you could be normal kijkt ze, ruim 25 jaar en tien romans later, terug. Ik vind het een goed boek omdat het duidelijk maakt hoe belangrijk boeken voor Jeanette Winterson zijn, en hoe niet genoeg uiteindelijk. Wat telt is liefde. Als die niet voorhanden is of verzwegen wordt is er die reddingsboei, de literatuur. ‘Somebody has been there for us and deepdived the words’ en ‘I needed words because unhappy families are conspiracies of silence’. Het boek gaat – behalve over de zoektocht naar haar moeder – over haar levenslange zoektocht naar geluk. Ik krijg zin in lezen van dit boek.

  • Larger than life
    • Meeslepend verhaal
    • Grappig
    • goed tijdsbeeld van de jaren zestig
    • intelligent
    Toon alle punten Toon alleen de eerste 3 punten

    For readers of Jeanette Winterson, in particular Oranges are not the only fruit, some parts of the story are well-known. But in this book the real Mrs Winterson, Jeannette's adoptive mother, takes centre stage, and we can laugh and cry out indignantly at this 'monstrous woman', who is religiously obsessed and often tells Jeannette that 'The Devil led them to the wrong crib' in choosing her for adoption. What follows is a story full of humour and pain, but always told with a light touch. Apart from a close look at Jeanette's personal live, the book paints a clear picture of working class Manchester in the sixties. Eventually, Jeannette finds her birth mother, who is nice, but she realizes she would never have become the writer she now is without Mrs Winterson. 'She was a monster but she was my monster.'

  • Deep and personal
    • Goede verhaallijn
    • Meeslepend verhaal

    I was very intrigued by the book title when I ordered it.
    Jeanette Winterson paints a vivid and impressionable picture of her life.
    The narration is crisp and she makes the character of her mother come alive with her descriptions. It is a deep book with seamless sentences crafting different profundities about life.

  • Zeer goed

    Geschreven bij Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

    Indringend boek

9 69
Uiterlijk 29 juni in huis Tooltip
Verkoop door bol.com
  • Gratis verzending door bol.com vanaf 20 euro
  • Ophalen bij een bol.com afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice

Vaak samen gekocht