Revenge of the Scapegoat

Afbeeldingen
Artikel vergelijken
  • Engels
  • Paperback
  • 9781948980074
  • 12 april 2022
  • 176 pagina's
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

From the author of Blackfishing the IUD, a darkly hilarious novel about familial trauma, chronic illness, academic labor, and contemporary art.

In the tradition of Rabelais, Swift, and Fran Ross—the tradition of biting satire that joyfully embraces the strange and fantastical—and drawing upon documentary strategies from Sheila Heti, Caren Beilin offers a tale of familial trauma that is also a broadly inclusive skewering of academia, the medical industry, and the contemporary art scene.

One day Iris, an adjunct at a city arts college, receives a terrible package: recently unearthed letters that her father had written to her in her teens, in which he blames her for their family’s crises. Driven by the raw fact of receiving these devastating letters not once but twice in a lifetime, and in a panic of chronic pain brought on by rheumatoid arthritis, Iris escapes to the countryside—or some absurdist version of it. Nazi cows, Picassos used as tampons, and a pair of arthritic feet that speak in the voices of Flaubert’s Bouvard and Pécuchet are standard fare in this beguiling novel of odd characters, surprising circumstances, and intuitive leaps, all brought together in profoundly serious ways.

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
en
Bindwijze
Paperback
Oorspronkelijke releasedatum
12 april 2022
Aantal pagina's
176

Betrokkenen

Hoofdauteur
Caren Beilin

Overige kenmerken

Product breedte
139 mm
Product hoogte
12 mm
Product lengte
178 mm
Studieboek
Nee
Verpakking breedte
178 mm
Verpakking hoogte
29 mm
Verpakking lengte
178 mm
Verpakkingsgewicht
193 g

EAN

EAN
9781948980074

Je vindt dit artikel in

Taal
Engels
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Boek
Beschikbaarheid
Leverbaar
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Nog geen reviews
Kies gewenste uitvoering
Prijsinformatie en bestellen
De prijs van dit product is 22 euro en 99 cent.
Uiterlijk 24 juli in huis
Verkoop door bol
In winkelwagen
  • Prijs inclusief verzendkosten, verstuurd door bol
  • Ophalen bij een bol afhaalpunt mogelijk
  • 30 dagen bedenktijd en gratis retourneren
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice