Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea EBOOK Tooltip

Taal: Engels
  • bol.com Kobo LeesappEbooks lezen is heel makkelijk. Na aankoop zijn ze direct beschikbaar op je Kobo e-reader en op je smartphone of tablet met de gratis bol.com Kobo app.

  • Engels
  • E-book
  • 9780062499684
  • mei 2018
  • Adobe ePub
Alle productspecificaties

Samenvatting

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach.


This joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean is illustrated in black-and-white throughout. The Wall Street Journal said, "Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins's affectionate chapter book. . . . Illustrations by the author add wit and tenderness to this sunny summer story." For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.


Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home—but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix's surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn't want to leave!


Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery—from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.


A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, "Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated."Features black and white art throughout.

Recensie(s)

Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins's affectionate chapter book...the girls experience days filled with quiet, quirky wonders: sand castles and ocean currents, edible snails and giant beetles, injured raptors and mint-eating raccoons. Illustrations by the author add wit and tenderness to this sunny summer story. --Wall Street Journal Told in a light, breezy style with rich but accessible language and touches of humor...Appealing black-and-white illustrations scattered throughout provide visual context for the setting which is also vividly described in the text. A great choice for young readers ready for longer fiction. --School Library Journal In every episode--a night swim, a June-bug attack, a beach-glass-collection expedition, a visit to a raptor sanctuary--Perkins zooms in. ...we get to know the characters in an intimate way. ...Black-and-white illustrations, beautifully composed, slightly mysterious, gently funny, add to the intensity and authenticity. --Horn Book Magazine Perkins's charming black-and-white illustrations are matched by gentle, evocative language that sparkles like summer sunlight on the sea...The novel's themes of family, friendship, growing up and trying new things are a perfect fit for Perkins's middle grade audience. --BookPage This charming novel of a girl's first family beach vacation vividly evokes the childhood wonder of the first experience of the ocean. ...the next best thing to a week at the beach. --Buffalo News A gentle wonder suffuses the story, focusing on the kid perspective of the small but significant parts of a summer trip...The prose has a pleasing accessibility, and although there's a clear arc, any of the eight chapters could easily be read aloud as a stand-alone. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) Newbery Medalist Perkins vividly captures the world through a child's eyes in this quiet novel chronicling Alix Treffrey's weeklong vacation on the beach...Perkins draws on all five senses to evoke nature's beauty and show the ebb and flow of Alix's emotions as she eagerly explores new territory. --Publishers Weekly (starred review) Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated. ...Each chapter is its own small treasure, a mix of the everyday and the unexpected, all written in a way that delights the senses. --Booklist (starred review)

Lees de eerste pagina's

Productspecificaties

Inhoud

Taal
Engels
Bindwijze
E-book
Verschijningsdatum
mei 2018
Ebook formaat
Adobe ePub
Aanbevolen leeftijd
6 - 8 jaar
Illustraties
Met illustraties

Betrokkenen

Auteur
Lynne Rae Perkins
Illustrator
Lynne Rae Perkins
Uitgever
Greenwillow Books

Lees mogelijkheden

Lees dit ebook op
Desktop (Mac en Windows) | Kobo e-reader | Android (smartphone en tablet) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet) | Overige e-reader

EAN

EAN
9780062499684

Je vindt dit artikel in

Categorieën
Leeftijd
vanaf 6 jaar, vanaf 7 jaar, vanaf 8 jaar
Boek, ebook of luisterboek?
Ebook
Taal
Engels
Studieboek of algemeen
Algemene boeken
Nog geen reviews
10 99
Direct beschikbaar
Verkoop door bol.com
  • E-book is direct beschikbaar na aankoop
  • E-books lezen is voordelig
  • Dag en nacht klantenservice
  • Veilig betalen